College Leadership and Senior Staff

The Head of College is the Master. The current Master is Dr Graham Redding. He is the College's eighth Master. He is an ordained Presbyterian Minister and a former Moderator of the Presbyterian Church of Aotearoa New Zealand. Prior to taking up the role of Master in 2015, Graham was Principal of the Knox Centre for Ministry and Leadership. He is married to Jenni and has three grown-up children, the oldest of which is a former resident of Knox.

Graham is assisted by a Deputy Master, Caroline Hepburn-Doole, whose main responsibility is to ensure that residents have the pastoral and academic support they need. She oversees a team of ten Sub-Masters, each of whom has pastoral responsibility for a designated "neighbourhood" within the College. The 2019 Sub-Master team comprises Samantha Addington, Julia Cabral, Maddy Conway, Juliana Costa, Immy Doyle, Ashlyn Gallagher, Miller McLeod Gore, Alec McWhirter, David Spencer and Rachel Tombs.

The Operations Manager, Max Gillies, is responsible for overseeing the College's administration, catering, finances and property functions. The Admin Office is staffed by Gail Rockliff and Ruth Arnison. The Food Services Manager, Michael O'Brien, runs the kitchen together with Head Chef, Patrick Garner. The Property Manager is Dave Kennedy, and the Maintenance Officer is Steve Winter.

As well as providing accommodation for University students, Knox College also houses the Knox Centre for Ministry and Leadership and the Presbyterian Research Centre, which comprises the Hewitson Library and the Presbyterian Archives Unit. Knox residents are permitted to use the Hewitson Library and are expected to abide by its conditions of usage.

The Knox College Students' Club (KCSC) Executive and other Honorary Positions

The KCSC holds its Annual General Meeting in September each year. Its main task is to elect an Executive, which holds office until the following AGM, and is responsible for organising College events, including the Cameron Shield and Nevill Cup competitions. The  2018-19 Executive is: Sam Poles Smith (President), Lisa Lin (Vice-President), Alex Posa (Treasurer), Louis Collins (Cultural Affairs), Jack Evans (Secretary), Charlotte Washer (Social), and Olivia Rieber and James Matthews (Sports).

Other honourary positions include the College Beadle (Julia Harvey), College Piper, Head Chorister (Rebekah Amitrano), and Chapel Assistant (Karin Ratgali).

The Senior Common Room

The Senior Common Room comprises post-graduate students in residence, Submasters, College Fellows and the Principal and teaching staff of the Knox Centre for Ministry and Leadership. The primary purpose of the Senior Common Room is to help foster the academic and community life of the College. This happens in a variety of ways, not least of which by members attending selected College events, delivering academic addresses, and getting to know the members of the Junior Common Room. One of the most popular events each year is the Great Debate between the Senior and Junior Common Rooms.

There are three categories of College Fellow:

Life Fellows: The Reverend John Allen, Reverend Emeritus Professor Maurice Andrew, the Very Reverend Emeritus Professor Ian Breward, the Reverend Emeritus Professor Sir Lloyd Geering, the Reverend Emeritus Professor Dr Peter Matheson, Emeritus Professor George Petersen, the Very Reverend Emeritus Principal Alister Rae, the Reverend Emeritus Principal Simon Rae, Professor Sir David Skegg, the Reverend John Sinclair 

Ex officio Fellows: The current Master and Deputy Master of Knox College, former Masters of Knox College, the Head of Salmond College, and current members of the Board of Knox College and Salmond College.

Quinquennial Fellows: Professor Amanda Barusch, Professor Spencer Beasley, Dr Hamish Campbell, Professor Hugh Campbell, Dr Christopher de Hamel, Professor Katherine Dickinson, Dr Kemp English, Professor Robin Gauld, Dr Colin Geary, Mr Timothy Gray, Professor Harlene Hayne, Emeritus Professor Dame Linda Holloway, the Reverend John Hunt, Dr Basil Hutchinson, Professor Thomas Kardos, Tofilau Nina Kirifi-Alai, Mr Richard Madden, Mr Neville Martin, Mr John Matheson, Professor Liam McIlvanney, Mr Stuart McLauchlan, Emeritus Professor John Mortimer, the Reverend Graeme Munro, Professor Ross Notman, Professor Jessica Palmer, Dr Patricia Payne, Professor Nicola Peart, Dr Elman Poole, the Reverend Professor Murray Rae, Dr Marcelo Rodriguez-Ferrere, the Reverend Dr John Roxborogh, Professor Peter Skegg, Her Honour Judge Annis Somerville, Mr Philip Somerville, Dr Royden Somerville QC, Associate Professor John Stenhouse, Professor Warren Tate, Rev Dr Steve Taylor, Professor Michelle Thompson-Fawcett, the Reverend Professor Paul Trebilco, Sir James Wallace, Professor Antony Wood, Professor Sarah Young. 

The Governance Board

Knox College is one of two residential colleges owned by the Presbyterian Church. The other is Salmond College which is on the same site and is about the same size. Both colleges are governed by the Board of Knox College and Salmond College. The Board is accountable to the Presbyterian Church's Council of Assembly. The Board is chaired by Mr David Richardson. Other members of the Board are: Mr John Christie, the Rev Dr Kerry Enright, Mrs Hilary Halba, Mr Mike Harte, Mrs Fiona McMillan, Professor Jessica Palmer, Mr John Patrick and the Rev Anne Thomson . Email correspondence to the Board can be sent to:

The Foundation for Knox College and Salmond College

The Foundation was established in 1981. Its primary aim is to offer incentives that will attract senior and postgraduate students to live and work in both Colleges. It does this primarily through the provision of scholarships. The Foundation has its own web site.